making bread

[NOTE: This post originally appeared on a now-deleted blog and is being re-posted here for my own sake.]

090701 01 bread

Doesn’t that look … odd? Yes, I made bread in a pie pan. It’s kinda weird. Usually I halve the bread recipes that I find, but this time I forgot. Therefore, I had a whole lotta dough and since I had already filled up the loaf pan and square pan, I resorted to using my trusty pie pan. I used a different recipe for bread this time, and it wasn’t that great. Although I’m not sure if it’s not that great because of all the weird stuff I did to the recipe or if it just wasn’t that great of a recipe to begin with. Either way, I think I’m going to go back to the rosemary bread recipe and just tweak that to suit me.

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons yeast
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 3 cups water
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons salt
  • 6-7 cups bread flour

Process:

  • mix the yeast, warm water, and 1 teaspoon of sugar together
  • let the mixture stand until it foams (the yeast blossoms)
  • add three cups of water, 1/2 cup of sugar, and flour
  • add salt once the mixture is thick
  • add flour until you cannot add any more – knead
  • place the dough in an oiled bowl covered with a towel
  • put the bowl in a warm place and let rise for an hour
  • punch the dough down and let it rise for another hour
  • bake in oven at 375F for 25-30 minutes until browned

The thing is, I ran out of bread flour about three cups in. Therefore I started using all-purpose flour, until I ran out of that too. I really need to start planning better. Anyway, that’s why in the picture of my dough rising, it still looks pretty wet … because it was. Eh. Tastes okay, but it doesn’t have that yummy chewiness that I generally like in my breads because I ran out of bread flour. And it just looks weird. But now I’m stuck with a lot of bread. I wouldn’t give it to any of my friends because it has a slightly weird taste, probably because of the random dash of honey I threw in (I don’t know why), and a slightly weird texture, probably because of the flour shenanigans.

090701 04 sweet potato

While it was rising, I cooked my sweet potato. The oven was already on since I find it easier to let the dough rise when it’s sitting on top of a hot oven. Usually I just put the oven on a low setting, but I figured I might as well use the oven rather than let all that heat go to waste. After washing the sweet potato, I stuck it in the oven for an hour and a half at 350F. Yum.

One thought on “making bread

  1. Pingback: breadsticks | from here to (there)

Leave a Reply

