working

[NOTE: This post originally appeared on a now-deleted blog and is being re-posted here for my own sake.]

Today was my first day of “work.” That word is in quotations because I feel like hell and I’m not even getting paid for it. Oy, how do people manage to work full-time? There should be a nap break in the afternoon … I want a siesta. I was on the computer all day, researching precedents for a design competition I’m supposed to help this guy work on. Utter tedium. Thankfully, the University of Texas library system still allows me access to all its wonderful sources. Yay. Unfortunately, it’s ridiculously hard to find information on the mass of chaos that is the internet. The project is for a high school in Henan province, but it’s ridiculously big (estimated around 100,000 square meters), with dormitories, classrooms, 10 basketball courts, et cetera. Anyone know of any projects that I could use as precedents? It’s not just architecture, there’s some urban planning and landscape elements to it too … which I’m not familiar with. Any help would be appreciated. Ugh … so tired.

Leave a Reply

