making pasta

Yesterday morning I took part of the SAT. Oh standardized testing, how I have NOT missed you. Blah. Anyway, so I think I might have a job, a different one. This one would be to teach the SAT and some AP tests. The last one, which was to teach a public-speaking class in English kind of fell through, mostly because the boss guy didn’t really have his deal together and was annoying me.

Anyway, all went well. I made my own lunch – pasta. Easy, right? The classic staple “I don’t know how to cook, but I’m hungry” food. Went through a lot of pasta (of all different shapes) with Roommates 3 and 4. Especially 4. Wow, lots of pasta there. Fond memories. But hey now, I’m getting distracted. The reason why I bring attention to my luncheon of pasta is that it was supposed to be easy … if you have a can opener.

Who doesn’t own a can opener!? The pasta sauce was in a can (and expensive – yay for imported stuff). I searched all over the apartment and while the pasta was already boiling, I finally accepted that we own no can opener. I ended up opening the damn thing with a bottle opener and a garlic press. That was talent right there. I was darned proud of myself, and you should be too. Who knew making pasta could be such an adventure? But I have one question: Why do we have a garlic press yet no can opener?

100905

Leave a Reply

