i was on a farm

Ugh … for a while there I was being good at updating this blog rather regularly. And then I forgot about it. Oops.

Anyway, a while back I went to a farm in the outskirts of Shanghai on a sort of group field trip. Overall, it was rather boring. I like nature (to a degree) and I’ll spend the day in the park sketching away, but being stuck on a farm is a bit different. In the afternoon we picked pears and corn, which was the highlight of the trip. But then we had to sit through a lecture about sustainability blah blah blah and we had to design a poster about sustainability in groups. Due to the language barrier, I had a 10-year-old kid translating everything for me, which was a very weird experience. Also, while I appreciate what the farm (which is organic) is trying to do, I’m not very gung-ho about the whole concept, so when they were explaining things to us, it seemed like they were saying, “Hey, I’m saving the world whereas you’re killing it. You should be ashamed and grovel at my feet.”

The Austin farmer’s market is awesome and having lived in Austin, I have a certain degree of fondness for the hippie environmental folks. But that condescending attitude is seriously annoying. My Chinese is still rather limited, so I couldn’t follow a lot of what they were saying and was obviously bored. One of the guides suggested I take off my shoes and socks and walk around in the dirt in order to connect with nature. Um … no.

101011

2 thoughts on “i was on a farm

  1. lol, good. b/c walking around barefoot in the dirt…in china (or any 3rd world country farm land) is a perfect way to get parasites. that may be nature, but you don’t want that nature.

  2. Wait, Bon, you weren’t converted by the “sugar is cocaine” guy at the whatchamacallit that we had to go to–Casa de Luz? I’d have thought that that was a very convincing lecture. :)

Leave a Reply

