another creeper

Yeah I know I posted earlier today, but this one will be short. I don’t have class tomorrow and this is the next-to-last week of Expo, so I figured I’d have a go at it. Lots of pictures and stories to share, but that’s for another post. This is just going to be a quick story about a creeper. I just can’t seem to get away from them. I left Expo around 10 PM, so it was already dark. Spent five hours there and my feet are killing me. Anyway, I left from a different gate than the one I came in at, so I asked one of the guards where the subway station was. I’ll do this in dialogue format.

Me: (in Chinese) Where’s the subway station?
Guard 1: (looks at me, then to a fellow guard) English.
Guard 2: (walks over, in English) Yes?
Me: (in English) Where’s the nearest metro?
Guard 2: Huh?
Me: Where is subway station?
Guard 2: (gives me directions)
Me: Great, thanks. (and then I smile … because I’m nice)
Guard 2: (as I’m turning away from him) Do you want to kiss me?
Me: Um … no. (and then I run across the street)

I don’t know why the first guard beckoned over the second one in the first place. Later on I asked a different guard for directions again because I wasn’t sure if I was going in the right direction and he understood me fine and answered back in Chinese. No problem there. It was really weird too because they were all in uniform so when that guard asked me if I wanted to kiss him … just too creepy. I’ve always held people in uniform in higher esteem, but China’s a different animal.

One thought on “another creeper

  1. Pingback: goodbye expo 2010 « from here to

Leave a Reply

