sirens

I don’t know how many people know this about me, but I don’t do well with loud noises. If someone drops a book with a thud, I will probably jump or squeak, even if I’m expecting it. I also don’t deal well with shouting or fire alarms, but sirens are the worst. The thing with sirens though is that the ambulance or police car drives away and then it’s okay again. Not so today. For over the past hour I’ve been hearing the continuous sound of sirens, some close by and some further away. Ambulance after ambulance. So I’m sitting in my apartment crying and finding it hard to stop.

A few blocks north of my apartment, a tall apartment building caught fire and apparently it’s a big fire. I think my apartment is on the route they’re taking from the fire to the hospital. There are reports of people trapped, but I don’t know all the details. It’s not under control yet. I’ve been reading an online forum here that’s been posting updates. It doesn’t look good.

One thought on “sirens

  1. Pingback: fire in shanghai | from here to (there)

Leave a Reply

