ugh … life et cetera

I feel ucks. School has started up again, I have no more income, and I feel kind of sickly. I’m not sick, but I think the combination of a screwed-up sleep schedule and ridiculous eating schedule (yesterday I forgot to eat dinner until around 11 pm) are kind of getting to me. Plus, I switched into a higher level class and it’s a bit tough so my head hurts. I’m quite out of practice as well, having not used Mandarin in all the time I was traveling and on break. Yikes.

Speaking of the break, the below picture is of the Great Wall of China – in miniature. Shenzhen, China, has this park called Splendid China, where they have major Chinese tourist attractions in miniature form. Quite cute. Interesting. All in all a fun few hours of walking around. I kind of wish I knew more about Chinese architecture though. Okay, so Splendid China was fun, but what happened there was kind of weird, in that I ended up spending the day/evening with three random Chinese people.

At the entrance, a girl asked me to take a picture for her. She was also traveling alone and attached herself to me/dragged me along. She was kind of annoying, but whatever. Maybe five minutes in, she asked for directions from two guys, and they said they had just arrived themselves. So … she attached us to them. I spent about six hours with them, had dinner, caught a show, et cetera. Very weird. Weirder though, Shenzhen Guy1 (at least that’s what he’s listed at in my phone) called me today. Basically he said that next time he visits Shanghai I should cook for him. Um, no. I told him I can’t cook. Back in Shenzhen I barely spoke to them because I found the whole situation kind of odd, so I didn’t think he’d try to keep in touch, especially because he’s married with a kid and all. I said very little and kept the conversation short, which I hope was hint enough of LEAVE ME ALONE, but not sure. Hopefully he loses my number. Should never have given it in the first place. Ugh.

110301

Leave a Reply

