shanghai in new york apples

Today (or rather yesterday) I took a bit of a walk around town. While walking down Broadway, I hit 79th and I saw it. Were my eyes playing tricks on me? Was that really what I thought it was? Yes. Oh yes. It was a sculpture. Of a bird. On a stack of apples. Oh wow. I’m sure I must’ve looked like a complete idiot standing on the street corner staring at the sculpture and smiling from ear to ear.

111024a

Are you confused? Okay then, let me explain. The above picture was taken on October 23, 2011, at the intersection of Broadway and 79th, Manhattan, New York, United States. The below picture was taken on April 17, 2011, at the Jing’an Sculpture Park on Shimen Er Lu, Jing’an District, Shanghai, China. Notice the similarities!?!?

111024b

I finally looked it up because seriously, what a coincidence! The artist is named Peter Woytuk. The one in New York is called “Raven on Three Great Apples” and the one in Shanghai is called “The Colour of Happiness.” Very cool, eh?

One thought on “shanghai in new york apples

  1. What a cool find! That raven is HUGE! I wonder why the artist decided to do the apples in all green in the New York one and different colors in the China one?

    -Emily
    (blazespirit from Swap-bot “Promoting Your Blog 2!”)

Leave a Reply

