the color yellow … how i detest thee

Are there any colors you just absolutely despise? I, personally, hate the color yellow. Granted, I might occasionally make exceptions, but for the most part, I just don’t like it. I own one yellow item – a short-sleeved sweater – which was an impulse buy, but nice for spring (I’ve worn it once). Because it’s the summer, it’s bright yellow everywhere. But I think it’s annoying. When it’s boiling hot and humid, the last thing I want to see is yellow. I just want air-conditioning.

I used to hate orange as well, but since my college colors were burnt orange and white, the hue grew on me. I also hate red, but I might compromise with darker, richer, or earthier reds. Does that sound incredibly picky of me? Quite possibly. I guess that’s why I stick to a lot of neutrals. Yellow is too sunshine-y and it often comes across as ‘fake smile’ happiness. I sound like the Grinch of summer. Oh well. The color just annoys me.

120626

Leave a Reply

