back in h-town: museum of fine arts, houston

Where’s your happy place? For me, I feel most at home in museums and galleries. There’s something about the quiet contemplation of a piece of artwork and the clean, open gallery spaces that settles my mind. The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston (MFAH) is located in Houston’s Museum District and just a short walk away from the CAMH, where I worked over the summer. Since I’m here for the holidays, I decided to stop by my old stomping grounds and take a look. And hey, on Thursdays the MFAH is free! Unfortunately that also meant that the museum was more crowded than usual.

I’m actually not a big fan of their collection. I’ve been to so many museums over the years and the MFAH just isn’t up to the level of the Met or Smithsonian, which is to be expected of course, but it meant I made it through that museum in record time (also because I’ve been to the MFAH many times before). I saw the animated film “Eleanor’s Secret” (2009) while I was there since they were doing a free screening of it. It was shown dubbed in English as opposed to the original French, and it was cute but not something I would watch again. It was a nice outing and great to visit the MFAH again … but I think I’ve been spoiled by New York!

121230

Leave a Reply

