remember nemo?

It has been about a month since Nemo hit. Remember that? The storm was called Nemo, and I have no idea why. It didn’t really need a name. It was a snowstorm! They don’t get names! Plus, if they really, really wanted to give it a name, Nemo was a bad choice. First of all because it’s the name of that cute little fish and secondly because it continues to ignore that great movie from the my childhood that was based on a comic strip from the early 1900s. Oh and also because THERE WERE TWO STORMS, not just one. But I suppose my main quibble is that apparently my sister and I were the only ones to ever watch “Little Nemo: Adventures in Slumberland.”

130310 a

130310 b

The storm itself was kind of overblown in terms of New York. Apparently there was about a foot of snowfall, but … it really didn’t seem like it. Quite pretty and not a big deal considering that the morning after, even without all the sidewalks salted, it wasn’t too bad except for crossing Morningside Park (which hadn’t had its stairs shoveled at that point). But everyone was sledding and the kids were having so much fun. It was funny to see because it’s New York City! Sometimes I forget there are so many kids around here.

130310 c

[NOTE: Image is the “Little Nemo in Slumberland” comic published on March 11, 1906, and retrieved from the Comic Strip Library.]

The name Nemo is Latin for “nobody” … but no one really cares about dead languages, right? I didn’t even know the stupid storm was named Nemo until way after the storm had already started (ah, life without cable) but when I eventually heard the name Nemo being tossed around, I immediately thought of Little Nemo, whereas I’m sure most people thought of the fish. Sigh … on the other hand, Google knows of my Nemo (the comic at least) so that’s gotta be worth something!

Leave a Reply

