all by myself

The other night I went to Lincoln Center and saw a show at Alice Tully Hall. It was great. Except … I was all by myself. Then again, it wasn’t a bad experience being by myself. And to think of it, I do end up going to a lot of ‘cultured’ events (museums, galleries, foreign films) by myself … because no want wants to go with me.

130313 a

The performance the other night was by the Manhattan Concert Chorale and a bunch of other choirs, and the main highlight was Poulenc’s “Gloria”. I had gone ahead and boughten three tickets because a friend said she definitely wanted to go and two others were wavering. Well, they all backed out and I was left with two spare tickets. That bites.

130313 b

130313 c

When I was in China I didn’t have many friends and the ones I did have didn’t live nearby, so I ended up going to a lot of things by myself and even got pretty comfortable eating alone at restaurants. In a way it’s kind of nice because then I can wander the galleries at my own pace or fully enjoy a performance without feeling compelled to chat. But the silence that precedes the start of a concert/film does get quite awkward. The only thing I won’t do is go to a bar by myself. Because that’s just stupid and not right.

Leave a Reply

