every flavor known/unknown to man

140226

Chinese people have some weird different tastes. Buying potato chips in China can be a minefield. There are some really odd flavors out there. Sure you can buy the imported versions that offer ‘normal’ flavors, but who’s going to pay that much just for junk food?

My recommendation? Stick with the original, a.k.a. American Classic. And at all costs avoid the ‘refreshing’ flavors like Cucumber. I know some expats who like ’em, but to me they’re just … wrong. Tomato flavor? Icks. Lemon Tea flavor? Absolutely disgusting. Some things should not be potato chips. Especially healthy foods – their flavors don’t belong on heart-clogging goodness. Who wants to eat potato chips that taste vaguely like cucumbers? Apparently quite a few people. The mind boggles. The meat ones (Italian Red Meat, Barbecue, et cetera) are decent enough, but only in a pinch. I saw a Cheese Lobster flavor once, but I was too chicken to try it and haven’t seen it since. Sometimes I can find Sour Cream and Onion, but what I would kill for Cheddar and Sour Cream ….

Photo is from Wal-Mart, on the edge of Shanghai. Ah, craziness.

4 thoughts on “every flavor known/unknown to man

  1. OHHH I am intrigued by all these flavours and i would TOTALLY eat the cucumber one, just because it seems wrong.
    But maybe I draw the line at lemon tea…that just…doesn’t make sense.

    • I’ve tried all the regularly stocked ones, the ones I mentioned excluding Cheese Lobster. The easiest ones to find are American Classic and Cucumber (I have no idea why). Apparently there’s a Blueberry flavor and some spicy ones out there, but I’ve never seen them. I guess my supermarket’s not that special :(

  2. Pingback: uniquely asian: the potato chip saga | from here to (there)

Leave a Reply

