the right to vote

I read an article the other day about how in 2013, a record 2999 people renounced their US citizenship. Those who explained their decisions had perfectly logical reasons for doing so, and seemed genuinely distraught about the ordeal, but … wow. What’s my limit? I’ve always been proud to be an American, but is there anything that would make me reconsider?

One man who was still contemplating renunciation mentioned one thing he was reluctant to give up: the right to vote in US elections.

140404

It’s one of those things that so many people take for granted. And so many people in the US don’t even bother voting because “it’s a hassle” or “my vote won’t matter anyway” or “wait, there was an election?” I’ve always liked to vote. It’s like giving blood – if you can, you should. The US isn’t perfect, but people who complain about the country but make no strides to promote change or be involved? That’s the real shame.

So even though I’m in China, I’m all signed up for absentee voting. And since I’m in China, I don’t even have to worry about jury duty. No plans to stop being an American for me.

Leave a Reply

