creepy freaky cool: metamorphosis – mirror

There are only a few weeks left for this exhibition! And I definitely recommend it … if you’re okay with the possibility of nightmares. I quite like OCAT Shanghai, a decently-sized museum specializing in contemporary multimedia art that’s located along the north side of Suzhou River. I’ve never been a big media/video art person, but I’ve liked every exhibition of theirs I’ve been to.

140825 a

I took some non-art friends to the opening of the Metamorphosis – Mirror exhibition and at the end of the exhibition, one friend turned to me and said, “I’m going to have nightmares tonight.” Ha. I found it pretty great. Creepy and freaky, but great. Both artists (Daniel Lee and Roger Ballen) work largely in photography, but there were some videos and it was very thought-provoking.

140825 b

140825 c

Daniel Lee’s work (above) was creepy as hell, morphing animals and people. Very well done, but disturbing to see people transformed (or rather metamorphosed) like that. On the other side of the museum, Roger Ballen’s work (below) was even creepier. Square black and white photos of weird people and scenes. Oh, and the loud thumping video? That would be the music video for Die Antwoord’s “I Fink U Freeky” that Roger Ballen collaborated on. My friends and I watched it twice … in shocked silence.

140825 d

140825 e

Metamorphosis – Mirror: A Double Solo Show by Daniel Lee and Roger Ballen
July 13 – September 14, 2014

OCT Contemporary Art Terminal (OCAT)
ocatshanghai.com
1016 North Suzhou Road
Zhabei District, Shanghai
Tuesday to Thursday and Sunday, 10 AM – 7 PM
Friday and Saturday, 11 AM – 9 PM

Leave a Reply

