a rare sight in shanghai

It’s been a month since I last posted. So since I’ve been a bit of a mythical presence lately, I’m going to share a unicorn with you.

150208

Feast your eyes, ladies and gentlemen. This is a rare sight indeed. FIVE STARS. This taxi driver (a woman – go feminism!) has FIVE STARS on her taxi ID card. Most drivers are men, but from my experience, the female drivers are better (nicer and less crazy) and have much cleaner vehicles. The stars denote the driver’s level of English and service, and to get them the driver has to sit through some kind of exam. Not sure about the specifics, but let me tell you, this was special enough for me to take a picture. I don’t often see anyone with two, so five is downright unheard of. Kudos, unnamed female taxi driver!

Leave a Reply

