battery park’s seaglass carousel

160610

I have a thing for carousels.Ever since I had back surgery in high school, I can’t ride roller coasters. I was never that fond of roller coasters to begin with, but once that option was taken from me, I just really want to ride a roller coaster. It was even more Tantalus-like because I lived about five minutes from Kings Island (I could see their fireworks from my backyard), and when my high school physics class took a field trip to Cedar Point, guess who rode the merry-go-round again and again and again?

Anyhow, I learned to love merry-go-rounds and carousels and have made peace with the fact that I will never ride a roller coaster ever again. No matter. While roller coasters rely on screams and thrills, carousels are works of art. Take for example the SeaGlass Carousel in Battery Park at the southern tip of Manhattan. It was built while I was in Shanghai, so I hadn’t heard of it until I was interviewing for jobs. The firm I was interviewing at (but who didn’t get back to me until I had been at my current job for a month already – what’s up with that?!) had worked on the project and they showed me a video of it … and I was mesmerized. So when my sister was in town, I dragged her down there and we rode the carousel.

Totally awesome. Lights, colors, trippy music, and fun for all ages. It was a bit pricey at $5 for a 3.5-minute ride, so it’s not something you could ride on repeat without going broke, but I’d definitely go again.

SeaGlass Carousel
seaglasscarousel.nyc
Battery Park (entrance at State and Water Streets)
New York, NY
Open Daily, 7 AM – 7 PM

3 thoughts on “battery park’s seaglass carousel

  1. Hey there! Happy to meet another NYC blogger! We actually still haven’t made it out to see this, but pictures suggest it’s really awesome! Have you done Jane’s Carousel in DUMBO? Worth it for the views alone! :)

    • Howdy there! I’ve been wanting to ride Jane’s Carousel for THE LONGEST TIME, but the park feels like a world away. I mean, you have to CROSS A RIVER. Ha. But one of these days! The SeaGlass Carousel was pretty awesome, but actually much smaller than I had assumed from pictures.

Leave a Reply

